Combined Graduate Level (CGL)

SSC CGL Exam Pattern: – Staff Selection Commission (SSC) conduct Combined Graduate Level (CGL) exam  for the recruitment of various vacancies. Exam pattern details are given below:-

Exam Pattern: – The examination will consist of four stages:-


1.Tier -IComputer Based Examination
2.Tier -IIComputer Based Examination
3.Tier -IIIPen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper)
4.Tier-IVComputer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)


Computer Based Examination (Tier-I) (objective type):-

PartSubject (not in sequence)Max. MarksTime Duration (For all four parts)
1.English Language (25 questions)5060 Minutes



For VH/VH 80 minutes

2.General Intelligence

(25 questions)

3.Quantitative Aptitude

(25 questions)

4.General Awareness

(25 questions)



Note: – There will be negative marking of 0.50 marks for every wrong answer.

Computer Based Examination (Tier-II):- Tier-II is a computer based objective exam, which is divided in two separate papers: – English Knowledge, Quantitative Aptitudes and each paper is of 200 marks. There is negative marking 0.5 for every wrong answer.

Pen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper) (Tier-III):- Only those candidates, who secure marks in the Computer Based Examination (Tier-II), will be called for Tier-III examination.

Facebook Comments